5.2 Classes of medical certificates for licence types

The three medical standards expressed in the CASR relate to Class 1, 2 and 3 medical certificates as follows:

Classes of medical certificates
Medical standard Applicable to
Class 1 Holders of Air Transport Pilot Licence, Commercial Pilot Licence, Flight Engineer or Flight Navigator Licences.
Class 2 Holders of Student Pilot, Private Pilot, Commercial Pilot Balloons and Flight Radio Operator Licences.
Class 3 Holders of Air Traffic Services qualification (air traffic control or flight service licences).

An additional administrative standard (not expressed in the CASR) is now used for the 'Basic Class 2' and 'Class 5' certificate issued by CASA pursuant to an exemption.

Basic Class 2 certificate
Medical standard Applicable to
Basic Class 2 Private pilots flying piston engine powered aircraft (limited to the visual flight rules) carrying up to five non-fare paying passengers.
Class 5 Medical Self-declaration
Medical standard Applicable to
Class 5

Private and recreational pilots flying for non-commercial activities.

Student pilots conducting solo flights in an aircraft.

Applicants for a recreational pilot licence or for the grant of a rating other than an operational rating on a recreational pilot licence.

Restricted to aircraft with a MTOW up to 2000kg, maximum altitude of 10,000 feet AMSL, limited to day VFR only, carrying no more than 2 persons on board including crew members and no aerobatics or formation flying.

The eligibility requirements are listed in the instrument that grants the exemption for those who hold a record of a class 5 medical self-declaration. The essence of these requirements include that the pilot or applicant for a licence or rating:

  • must not have an excluded medical condition; and
  • must not be regularly taking excluded medication; and
  • must consider the information in the Guidelines for Medical Assessment document, including by consulting with a medical practitioner or other health care provider where recommended; and
  • must not have ever had an aviation medical certificate cancelled or refused; and
  • must not have ever had a private driver licence refused or cancelled on medical grounds; and
  • must provide CASA with a copy of any driver’s license medical examination that they are required to undergo.

A person who has been provided with a record of class 5 medical self-declaration:

  • must renew their medical self-declaration on or before the renewal date that appears on the record; and
  • must self-suspend or surrender their declaration if their medical circumstances change and they are no longer eligible for the exemption.

The process for making a self-declaration of medical fitness is:

  • using the online process through MRS; and
  • completing a mandatory online learning module; and
  • completing the declaration of eligibility and acknowledgement of the exemption requirements; and
  • paying the required administration fee.

An applicant for the online medical self-assessment process who has been required to undergo a driver’s licence medical examination for any reason is required to provide a copy of their driver licence medical examination at the time of making the self-declaration.

Comprehensive details on the medical, operational, and administrative aspects of the class 5 medical self-declaration scheme are available in the Guidelines document. If a pilot, medical practitioner, or health care provider requires advice or support on the pilot’s eligibility, they are encouraged to consult with a DAME, aerospace medicine specialists, or to seek advice from CASA Aviation Medicine.

Updated: 11 April 2022
Online version available at: https://www.casa.gov.au//search-centre/manuals-and-handbooks/designated-aviation-medical-examiners-handbook/52-classes-medical-certificates-licence-types
Back to top of page