Go to top of page

AvSafety seminars

banner: avsafety - awareness through education

The AvSafety seminars are an ideal opportunity for industry to interact with CASA, discuss local issues and ask questions of the regulator.

Registration for AvSafety seminars will be through Eventbrite and attendance is free.

Help make the skies safe for all and attend an AvSafety seminar today.

Weather to Fly

The AvSafety seminar titled 'Weather to Fly' will focus on pilot decision making behaviour in the face of adverse weather.

Weather related general aviation accidents remain one of the most significant causes for concern in aviation safety. This presentation will look at the dangers of flying into IMC as a VFR pilot and focuses on ways of preventing it happening through good flight planning and en route decision making.

The seminar will review the resources available and provide practical hints and tips to help pilots operate safely and efficiently.

The information is designed to enhance and refresh pilot’s knowledge at all levels.


CASA will slowly be recommencing our event schedule with the advertised dates tentative until the event is open for registration.

We will be following state and territory guidelines and working closely with the venues to provide sensible precautions such as arranging seating to give extra space and making hand sanitiser available.

If you are unwell with a cough or fever or other respiratory symptoms, we ask you to please not attend. If you have recently travelled internationally, we would also appreciate if you could review and follow any Department of Health advice relevant to you.

Thank you for your understanding.

Date Locationsort descending Registration
24 February 2021 Adelaide, South Australia
11 December 2020 Albany, Western Australia
3 February 2021 Albury, New South Wales
9 February 2021 Archerfield, Queensland
14 February 2021 Atherton, Queensland
16 February 2021 Caboolture, Queensland
10 November 2020 Caloundra, Queensland
17 February 2021 Camden, New South Wales
10 November 2020 Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
11 November 2020 Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
18 November 2020 Cowra, New South Wales
12 December 2020 Esperance, Western Australia
14 November 2020 Geraldton, Western Australia
4 November 2020 Gold Coast, Queensland
2 February 2021 Gympie, Queensland
16 February 2021 Innisfail, Queensland
30 January 2021 Jacobs Well, Queensland
3 February 2021 Jindabyne, New South Wales
23 February 2021 Maitland, New South Wales
18 February 2021 Mareeba, Queensland
20 November 2020 Mount Gambier, South Australia
14 November 2020 Murray Bridge, South Australia
11 February 2021 Murwillumbah, New South Wales
19 November 2020 Naracoorte, South Australia
9 February 2021 Nowra, New South Wales
11 November 2020 Parafield, South Australia
17 November 2020 Parkes, New South Wales
26 November 2020 Port Macquarie, New South Wales
10 February 2021 Shepparton, Victoria
18 February 2021 Southport, Queensland



Last modified: 13 August 2020