Getting an aircraft type rating

An aircraft type rating is a flight crew qualification that allows you to operate particular types of aircraft and associated models.

To guide when you when a type-rating for a specific aircraft, see the:

To get a type rating, you must complete a course of training conducted by a Part 141 or Part 142 operator.

When you pass the flight test for a type rating, the flight examiner will enter the rating on your licence. The flight examiner will notify us so we can update your licence records with your new rating. You can fly aircraft under that rating as soon as the examiner issues it and you satisfy any differences training requirements if applicable.

To keep your aircraft type rating current, you must have completed a flight test or flight review relevant to the rating within the past 2 years.

To conduct a flight under the Instrument Flight Rules (IFR) in a type rated aircraft you must have a valid instrument proficiency check relevant to the kind of aircraft.

Differences training

To operate some variants or models covered by a type rating, pilots and flight engineers who hold the type rating may also need to complete differences training.

The Prescription of aircraft and ratings legislative instrument lists the aircraft models or variants that require differences training. See the guide to aeroplane type ratings for more information.

Before you can conduct a flight in one of the models or variants, you must complete the relevant differences training for the model or variant you want to fly.

There is no flight test required at the completion of the course of differences training. Although, the flight training operator should issue a course completion certificate for your records.

Training conducted overseas

When the training for a type rating is not available within Australia, we may recognise equivalent training conducted Overseas.

We will only recognise training provided by an operator authorised by a foreign National Aviation Authority (NAA) we officially recognise.

If you conducted training overseas, you must be assessed as competent by a person authorised to conduct flight tests. The flight examiner must be authorised by the same NAA who also approved the operator to conduct the training.

Contact us before commencing any training overseas to make sure it will be recognised as equivalent.

Flight simulators for type rating training

You must complete flight training for some aircraft type ratings using a Flight Simulation Training Device (FSTD).

For aircraft that have a maximum certified seating capacity of 9 or more passengers, you must do the training in an approved flight simulator if it is available and located within Australia – see Part 61.205.

If the aircraft’s maximum certified take-off weight is more than 8,618 kg, or has a maximum certified seating capacity of more than 19, the flight training must be conducted in a FSTD if there is one available within Australia or overseas.

Co-pilot and cruise-relief ratings

Co-pilots must hold either a pilot type rating or a cruise relief co-pilot type rating.

If you have a type rating with a co-pilot limitation on your licence, you can have the limitation removed by completing the type rating training and passing a flight test fro the type rating. The training you need to complete must satisfy the competency standards specified for the issue of the type rating. The training provider can determine the required training using a process for recognition of prior learning.

The cruise relief co-pilot type rating is for pilots who conduct long duration flights that require additional crew members to mitigate risks of fatigue. It only allows you to co-pilot:

  • with an operator that has an approved [cyclic training and proficiency program, and
  • only while the aircraft is at flight level 200 or above.

Requirements for multi-crew operations

A multi-crew operation is any flight the regulations require to be conducted with more than 1 pilot.

Pilots in a multi-crew operation must:

  • complete multi-crew cooperation training, or
  • have conducted multi-crew operations prior to 1 September 2015.

Regulations for aircraft type ratings

The rules for type-rated aircraft are in these sections of Part 61 of CASR Flight crew licensing:

  • Division 61.B.2—Flight training and other training
  • Division 61.L.5—Pilot type ratings
  • Division 61.L.6—Cruise relief type ratings
  • Subpart 61.Z—Glider pilot licences
Last updated:
1 Aug 2022
Online version available at:
Back to top of page