4.2 Classes of medical certificates for licence types

The three medical standards expressed in the CASR relate to Class 1, 2 and 3 medical certificates as follows:

Classes of medical certificates
Medical standard Applicable to
Class 1 Holders of Air Transport Pilot Licence, Commercial Pilot Licence, Flight Engineer or Flight Navigator Licences.
Class 2 Holders of Student Pilot, Private Pilot, Commercial Pilot Balloons and Flight Radio Operator Licences.
Class 3 Holders of Air Traffic Services qualification (air traffic control or flight service licences).

An additional administrative standard (not expressed in the CASR) is now used for the 'Basic Class 2' certificate issued by CASA pursuant to an exemption.

Basic Class 2 certificate
Medical standard Applicable to
Basic Class 2 Private pilots flying piston engine powered aircraft (limited to the visual flight rules) carrying up to five non-fare paying passengers.
Last updated:
Online version available at: https://www.casa.gov.au//search-centre/manuals-and-handbooks/designated-aviation-medical-examiners-handbook/42-classes-medical-certificates-licence-types
Back to top of page