Go to top of page


Our partners

There are a number of federal government agencies with roles in providing safe aviation in Australia:

  • Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications
  • Civil Aviation Safety Authority
  • Airservices Australia
  • Australian Transport Safety Bureau
  • Australian Maritime Safety Authority
  • Department of Defence.

The Department of Infrastructure,Regional Development and Cities advises the government on the policy and regulatory framework for Australian airports and the aviation industry, manages the administration of the Government's interests in privatised airports under the Airports Act 1996, and provides policy advice to the Minister on the efficient management of Australian airspace and on aircraft noise and emissions.

Airservices Australia has responsibility for airspace management, aeronautical information, aviation communications, radio navigation aids and aviation rescue firefighting services.

The Australian Transport Safety Bureau independently investigates aviation accidents and safety occurrences, records, analyses and researches safety data and fosters safety awareness, knowledge and action. We have a memorandum of understanding with the ATSB that emphasises cooperation to improve aviation safety

The Australian Maritime Safety Authority responsible for the national coordination of both maritime and aviation search and rescue. AMSA is also responsible for the management and operation of the Australian ground segment of the Cospas-Sarsat distress beacon detection system.

The Department of Defence is responsible for safety and airworthiness of military aviation systems. We have two agreements in place with the Department of Defence on the promotion of aviation safety and airworthiness. The Agreement on the promotion of aviation safety and airworthiness was signed in 2015. The Subsidiary Arrangement (SA) for the transparency of safety oversight of the Delivery of Defence ATS to civil aviation operations (pdf 2 MB)compliments the existing primary agreement and provides for future collaboration.

Last modified: 9 October 2020