Go to top of page


Our partners

There are five federal government agencies with roles in providing safe aviation in Australia:

  • Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development
  • Civil Aviation Safety Authority
  • Airservices Australia
  • Australian Transport Safety Bureau
  • Australian Maritime Safety Authority

The Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development advises the Government on the policy and regulatory framework for Australian airports and the aviation industry, manages the administration of the Government's interests in privatised airports under the Airports Act 1996, and provides policy advice to the Minister on the efficient management of Australian airspace and on aircraft noise and emissions.

Airservices Australia has responsibility for airspace management, aeronautical information, aviation communications, radio navigation aids and aviation rescue firefighting services.

The Australian Transport Safety Bureau independently investigates aviation accidents and safety occurrences, records, analyses and researches safety data and fosters safety awareness, knowledge and action.

The Civil Aviation Safety Authority is an independent statutory authority which provides the safety regulation of civil aviation operations in Australia and the operation of Australian aircraft overseas.  It is also required to provide comprehensive safety education and training programs, to cooperate with the Australian Transport Safety Bureau, and administer some of Part IVA of the Civil Aviation (Carriers' Liability) Act 1959.

The Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA) is responsible for the national coordination of both maritime and aviation search and rescue. AMSA is also responsible for the management and operation of the Australian ground segment of the Cospas-Sarsat distress beacon detection system. 

Last updated: 4 March 2016