Main Content


CPL examination

The CPL examination (for both Aeroplane and Helicopter) is a 7 subject-part examination, that is delivered by PEXO.

Some subject-part examinations will be common for both Aeroplanes and Helicopters.

A candidate may attempt any of the 7 subjects, in any order of his/her preference. All subjects must be passed within a window, (or time period, see Re-training periods and windows). Candidates are responsible to ensure that they satisfy any pre-requisite qualification/s and will be required to present to the invigilator proof of meeting these requirements.

Pass marks

The pass marks for the CPL exams are 70%, except for the Flight Rules and Air Law exam where it is 80%.


The aeronautical knowledge requirements for each subject is specified in CASR Part 61 MOS, Schedule 3. It should be noted that (as an example) a candidate studying for CPL Navigation (CNAV) may be asked questions on topics from multiple Units, which in the case of CNAV may include Units 1.7.2 CNVC, 1.7.1 PNVC and 1.1.1 BAKC.

Requirement for a full CPL pass credit

To be awarded a full CPL exam credit, the candidate shall pass the 7 subject-parts of the CPL examination within one ‘window’ (the prescribed period of time permitted). Once all subject-parts have been passed within one window, a CPL theory credit is awarded to the candidate for that category, CPL(A) or CPL(H), which once awarded, is perpetually valid. If a candidate passes some, but not all subject-parts within a window, then they must pass (or re-pass) additional subject-parts until all subject-parts are passed within one window to achieve a full CPL theory credit.

No carry-over of incomplete exams

There is no 'carry-over' of any previous versions of the CPL exam as a partial 'credit' for the CyberExams version, as the previous versions were structurally different.

CPL exam structure (aeroplane & helicopter)

The CPL for both Aeroplane and Helicopter will be presented as a 7 subject-part exam, with 3 subject-parts common to both aircraft categories (Navigation, Meteorology and Human Factors). The subject-parts unique to aircraft category are Flight Rules & Air Law, Aerodynamics, Aircraft General Knowledge and Operation, Performance & Flight Planning.

The information in this table is a guide only, there may be minor variations to the number of marks for any particular subject-part. Details of these subject-parts and pass marks are as follows:

Subject Time + marks total Pass Mark
Navigation 1hr 45mins+ (41 marks total*) Pass 70%
Meteorology 1hr 30mins+ (40 marks total*) Pass 70%
Human Factors 1hr 15mins+ (41 marks total*) Pass 70%
FR & Air Law* 2hrs+ (40 marks total*) Pass 80%
Aerodynamics* 1hr 30mins+ (40 marks total*) Pass 70%
AGK* 1hr 30mins+ (40 marks total*) Pass 70%
Op, Performance & Flight Planning* 2hr 30mins+ (50 marks total*) Pass 70%

+ where necessary, times indicated here may be slightly modified
x marks may be slightly adjusted; number of questions will be determined by the marks allocated to the individual question in an exam session

CPL exam codes

The following are the CPL exam codes and their corresponding subject-parts:

CNAV - CPL Navigation (common to Aeroplane & Helicopter)
CMET - CPL Meteorology (common to Aeroplane & Helicopter)
CHUF - CPL Human Factors (common to Aeroplane & Helicopter)
CLWA - CPL Flight Rules & Air Law (Aeroplane)
CLWH - CPL Flight Rules & Air Law (Helicopter)
CADA - CPL Aerodynamics (Aeroplane)
CADH - CPL Aerodynamics (Helicopter)
CSYA - CPL Aircraft General Knowledge (Aeroplane)
CSYH - CPL Aircraft General Knowledge (Helicopter)
CFPA - CPL Operation, Performance & Flight Planning (Aeroplane)
CFPH - CPL Operation, Performance & Flight Planning (Helicopter)